The principle behind KOCO is the tradition of innovation

Instinct, entrepreneurial courage and a constant little bit of luck are the factors that always helped our family with delivering new solutions. We always recognized the trends of the time, came up with new solutions or rethought the status quo in order to bring useful and economical innovation to the market. Having wide interests, we know more than just what´s technically possible – we also know the economical and political frameworks. This way we gathered a vast amount of multidisciplinary know-how in the areas of materials technology, process engineering and application technology over the 100 years of corporate history. In the increasingly dynamic climate and energies sector, this wealth of experience is an important factor to success.

PROGRESS: FIRST PLACE ALREADY IN 1923

KOCO – a milestone in automobile history

In 1919 Carl Koch, an engineer and aircraft engine developer at the legendary Dixi-plants, went at it alone with his company Koch & Co. in Erfurt, Germany. He is the first to ever build automobiles from only 750 individual parts instead of the 1500 parts common at the time. The cars built under the KOCO brand are also among the first automobiles produced in larger quantities to run with boxer engines. Carl Koch was also a pioneer when it comes to faster vehicles: one year before the famous Bugatti Tank Type 32 made its debut, he had already built racing cars with streamlined bodies. In 1923 his car won the race on the AVUS circuit in Berlin. He finished 30 laps within 16 minutes and 53 seconds, which is equal to 71.076 kilometres per hour. What seems rather slow today, was very fast at the time.
Multihalle Bundesgartenschau Mannheim

From INNOVATION TOWORLDWIDE STANDARD

The tailor-made suit for modern flat roofs

In a self-built wooden hut in Western Germany, Carl Koch´s son Herbert, though with the same degree of pioneering spirit, starts walking down a completely different path to his father. Shortly after the end of the Second World War, roofs were sealed with tar and roofing paper. Herbert, with a degree in chemistry, developed high-quality recipes on a plastic basis instead. This material became the worldwide standard for corporate and industrial roofing. The experience from millions of square metres of sealed roofs proves to be an invaluable advantage for the decision if a roof is capable of withstanding the load of a photovoltaic installation over decades.
The spectacular roof of the Olympic stadium in Munich

BUILDING IN NEW DIMENSIONs

Membranes, the fifth construction material

The ideas of famous architect Frei Otto are so innovative, that they put the building industry before completely new obstacles. For Herbert Koch and his sons, the stadiums for the Olympic games 1972 in Munich were the first exciting challenge. On a large scale, they plan and realise spectacular roofing flooded with light, made with durable, translucent plastic membranes. Herbert Koch´s younger son Klaus-Michael Koch manages to scale this business sector under the brand Hightex to position himself as the world’s leading supplier for membrane technology. In 2007 Hightex goes public at the London Stock Exchange for technology. Today, more than 800 projects were realised in collaboration with famous architects and engineers, such as the roofs of the Olympic Stadium of Berlin, the National Stadium of Warsaw or the Olympic Stadium of Kiev… to name just a few.

FIRST SOLAR APPLICATIONS MADE BY THE KOCH FAMILY

When fossil energy became leverage

The 1973 oil embargo followed by a global economic crisis started a thinking process within the Koch family. In the following year, Germany spent an additional 17 billion DM only for the import of oil and gas. France shifts it’s energy supply to nuclear power sources and Herbert Koch and his sons begin to experiment with the production of solar energy, while their company produces the first transparent plastic membranes for intelligent building envelopes. Additionally, they start the development of solar powered water heating and steam turbines as well as focused pneumatic parabolic mirrors. As the oil price decreases again, it turns out that the market is not yet ready for solar energy, though the know-how gathered during this period of experiments can be further used for energy efficient building projects. The Allianz-Arena in Munich and Bangkok Airport are just two out of many spectacular examples. From here on in, Klaus – Michael Koch never looses sight of the original vision: the worldwide transition to solar power production that can be done within a few decades, if politics starts making the according decisions.
KOCO AG in Rimsting – Aerial view

USING THE POWER OF THE SUN

Full attention to the energy revolution

What speaks against building another business solely out of conviction at the age of 59 years? Klaus – Michael Koch starts KOCO AG and gathers a team of likeminded professionals from the technology and finance sectors. At the time no one could have known about the catastrophe of Fukushima Plant in Japan. One year later finally marked a turning point in global energy policy and triggered unseen dynamics within the solar industry. According to scientists, the transition to 100% renewable energy would be possible by covering only half of all corporate and industrial roofs in Germany with photovoltaic modules. For KOCO, this realistic estimate is an incentive as well as a starting signal – the family business has gathered millions of square metres in experience regarding flat roofs over many decades. From this experience, the experts of KOCO AG know exactly, if a roof can withstand a photovoltaic installation with a lifespan of 30 years, or if it has to be overhauled.
7On a planet, threatened by ecological destruction from all sites, anything we create must be ready for the future.
Deepak Chopra

Hinter KOCO steckt die Tradition der Innovation

Instinkt, unternehmerischer Mut und immer ein Quäntchen Glück. Diese Faktoren haben unserer Familie schon immer geholfen, Neues auf den Weg zu bringen. Immer haben wir die Trends der Zeit erkannt, neue Lösungen erdacht oder Bewährtes überarbeitet und so sinnvolle und wirtschaftliche Innovationen auf den Markt gebracht. Wir sind vielseitig interessiert und wir wissen nicht nur, was technisch möglich ist, sondern kennen auch die wirtschaftlichen und politischen Rahmenbedingungen. In 100 Jahren Unternehmensgeschichte ist so ein multidisziplinäres Know-how in den Bereichen Material-, Verfahrens- und Anwendungstechnik entstanden. Dieser Erfahrungsschatz ist ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor im sich immer dynamischer entwickelnden Klima- und Energiebereich.

FORTSCHRITT: SCHON 1923 AUF PLATZ EINS

KOCO – ein Meilenstein der Automobilgeschichte

1919 macht sich Carl Koch, Ingenieur und Flugzeugmotorenentwickler bei den legendären Dixi-Werken, mit seiner Firma Koch & Co. in Erfurt selbstständig. Als Erster baut er Automobile aus nur 750 Teilen anstatt der damals üblichen 1500 Teile. Außerdem gehören seine Autos der Marke KOCO zu den ersten, die in größerer Stückzahl mit Boxermotor produziert werden. Auch bei schnelleren Modellen ist Carl Koch ein Vorreiter. Stromlinienförmig karossierte Rennwagen werden von ihm schon ein Jahr vor dem berühmten Bugatti-Tank Typ 32 produziert. 1923 gewinnt er damit auf der Rennstrecke AVUS in Berlin. Die 30 Runden schafft er in 16 Minuten und 53 Sekunden bei durchschnittlich 71,076 Stundenkilometern. Was heute langsam scheint, war gestern schnell.
Multihalle Bundesgartenschau Mannheim

VON DER INNOVATION ZUM WELTWEITEN STANDARD

Der Maßanzug für das moderne Flachdach

In einer selbstgebauten Holzhütte beginnt Sohn Herbert Koch nach Krieg und Chemiestudium im Westen völlig neu. Dabei ist er mindestens genauso innovativ wie Vater Carl. Bisher werden Dächer mit Teer und Dachpappe abgedichtet. Herbert entwickelt stattdessen hochwertige Rezepturen auf Kunststoffbasis. Das Material wird zum weltweiten Standard bei Gewerbe- und Industriedächern. Die Erfahrung aus vielen Millionen Quadratmetern Dachabdichtung erweist sich heute als unschätzbarer Vorteil, wenn entschieden werden muss, ob ein Dach für eine Photovoltaikanlage mit jahrzehntelanger Lebensdauer geeignet ist.
Das spektakuläre Dach der Olympiahalle München

BAUEN IN NEUEN DIMENSIONEN

Membranen, der fünfte Baustoff

Architekt Frei Otto hat so innovative Ideen, dass die Bauwelt vor völlig neuen Aufgaben steht. Für Herbert Koch und seine Söhne sind die Stadien für die Olympischen Spiele 1972 in München die erste spannende Herausforderung. Im großen Stil planen und realisieren sie spektakuläre, lichtdurchflutete Überdachungen aus langlebigen Kunststoff-Membranen. Klaus-Michael Koch gelingt es, diesen Geschäftsbereich unter der Marke Hightex als führenden Anbieter in der Welt zu positionieren. Im Jahr 2007 erfolgt der Gang zur Technologiebörse an der Londoner Stock Exchange. Über 800 Projekte werden in Kooperation mit namhaften Architekten und Ingenieuren realisiert, darunter die Dächer für das Olympiastadion in Berlin, das Nationalstadion in Warschau und das Olympiastadion in Kiew.

ERSTE SOLARANWENDUNGEN AUS DEM HAUSE KOCH

Wenn fossile Energie zum Druckmittel wird

Erst kommt das Ölembargo, dann eine Weltwirtschaftskrise und anschließend das Nachdenken. Deutschland gibt allein im folgenden Jahr 17 Milliarden DM zusätzlich für Öl- und Gasimporte aus, Frankreich stellt seine Energieversorgung auf Atomenergie um und die Familie Koch beginnt, über die Gewinnung von Sonnenenergie nachzudenken. Genau zur richtigen Zeit, denn im Unternehmen werden sowieso gerade die ersten transparenten Kunststoffmembranen für intelligente Gebäudehüllen hergestellt. Jetzt beginnt man außerdem mit der Entwicklung von solarbetriebener Warmwasserbereitung, Dampfturbinen und fokussierenden, pneumatischen Parabolspiegeln. Als der Ölpreis wieder sinkt, stellt sich aber heraus, dass der Markt noch nicht reif für solare Energieerzeugung ist. Das Know-how kann aber trotzdem für energieeffiziente Bauprojekte genutzt werden. Die Allianz-Arena in München oder der Flughafen in Bangkok sind nur zwei spektakuläre Beispiele. Außerdem verliert Klaus-Michael Koch die Ursprungsidee nicht aus den Augen: die Vision, dass eine Umstellung auf solarbasierte Energiegewinnung innerhalb weniger Jahrzehnte weltweit gelingen kann, wenn es der politische Wille zulässt.
KOCO AG in Rimsting - Luftansicht

DIE KRAFT DER SONNE NUTZEN

Volle Konzentration auf die Energiewende

Warum nicht mit 59 Jahren aus Überzeugung ein weiteres Unternehmen starten? Klaus-Michael Koch gründet die KOCO AG und baut ein Team mit gleichgesinnten Profis aus dem Finanz- und Technikbereich auf. Er kann nicht ahnen, dass nur ein Jahr später die Katastrophe von Fukushima endgültig den Beginn der Energiewende markiert und eine beispiellose Dynamik in der Solarbranche auslöst. Wenn nur die Hälfte der Gewerbe- und Industriedächer in Deutschland mit Photovoltaik belegt würde, wäre nach Aussage von Wissenschaftlern die 100%-Energiewende möglich. Für KOCO ist diese Einschätzung Ansporn und Startsignal zugleich, denn das Familienunternehmen hat viele Jahrzehnte und Millionen Quadratmeter Flachdach-Erfahrung. Die Experten wissen, ob ein Dach eine Photovoltaik-Anlage mit einer Lebensdauer von über 30 Jahren tragen kann oder ob es vorher noch ertüchtigt werden muss.
7Auf einem Planeten, der von allen Seiten von ökologischer Zerstörung bedroht ist, muss alles, was wir erreichen, zukunftsfähig sein.
Deepak Chopra